When I sit at the dinner table I look at three men who have sucked my breasts.
One sucks them still, two sucked them temporarily.
I look at the sun flooding in through the window and I look at the glasses on the table.
I look at three mouths that open and close around the food.
I look at the food disappear from the table as the sun shifts in the window.
I say: 

You have all sucked my breasts.

As they wipe their mouths with the napkins.

They nod and smile at me and I smile at them.

The meal is not over, I add. There is dessert.
I say and stand up because I don’t want anyone to leave.

I want to have my eyes closed as I bring them the dessert.
The hot, red-hot dessert and whipped cream.

Kristín Ómarsdóttir is the author of seven collections of poetry, five books of short stories, seven novels, and half a dozen plays. Her novels have been translated into many languages including Swedish, French, and English. Her awards include the DV Cultural Award for Literature, the Icelandic Women’s Literature Prize, and the Icelandic national prize for playwright of the year. She has been nominated for the Icelandic Literary Award four times, as well as the Nordic Council Literary Prize.

Vala Thorodds
is an Iceland-born poet and publisher. She is founding director of the independent literary press Partus, managing editor of Sine Wave Peak, and co-editor of the poetry journal Pain.

comeA Poem for Two Voices (after Paul Verlaine)’, written in collaboration by Thorodds and Richard Scott, appears in Hotel #4



About     Print      Subscribe      Submissions      Contact

Hotel is a magazine for new approaches to fiction, non fiction & poetry & features work from established & emerging talent. Hotel provides the space for experimental reflection on literature’s status as art & cultural mediator. The magazine is bi-annual, the online archive is updated periodically.

The paper Hotel is designed & typeset by Niall Reynolds
is edited by Jon Auman, Thomas Chadwick & Dominic Jaeckle

Mailing List

Hotel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License           

︎     ︎